Crime Victim Compensation Program - Compensation for Your Financial Losses
Victims of violent crime and family or household members of deceased victims may have significant out-of-pocket expenses through no fault of their own. Crime Victim Compensation (CVC) helps pay for unreimbursed eligible expenses that result from the crime.
Learn about Crime Victim Compensation:
- An innocent victim who suffers injury from a compensable crime as identified by law.
- A dependent or family member of an innocent victim who has been killed as a result of a compensable crime.
- A person who is injured while aiding a crime victim or helping a police officer.
- A person who suffers a reaction from the homicide of a family or household member.
- A person injured in a car accident caused by an intoxicated driver, who was:
- A pedestrian or a passenger in the other car.
- A child passenger in the offender's car.
- Unaware that the driver was under the influence of alcohol or an illegal drug.
- The victim's conduct must not have caused or contributed to the victim's death or injury.
- The victim must not have committed a crime that led to the injury or death.
- The crime must be reported to law enforcement within five days of the crime or within five days of when the crime could reasonably have been reported. This time limit may be waived, in the interest of justice.
- The victim must cooperate with law enforcement officials in their investigation and prosecution of the crime.
- The applicant must file a claim within one year of the date of the crime. This time limit may be waived, in the interest of justice.
- Adults who were the victim of a crime as a child may apply.
- If the victim is listed on the statewide child support lien docket, certain requirements must be met in order to become eligible.
- The applicant must cooperate with the Wisconsin Department of Justice by supplying requested information in a timely manner.
The State of Wisconsin pays up to $40,000 and for up to four years of out of pocket expenses that are not paid or payable by a private or group insurance plan, public funds, or any other source, including payments made by the offender.
Eligible expenses include:
- Medical, hospital, surgical, pharmacy, and mental health counseling expenses.*
- Lost wages for medical disability.
- Loss of support to a dependent of a crime victim who is killed.
- Reasonable replacement costs of clothing or bedding held as evidence- up to $300.
- Reasonable replacement value of any computer or mobile telephone held as evidence- up to $200.
- Reasonable replacement value of property held as evidence and rendered unusable by crime lab testing- up to $200.
- Reasonable and necessary costs for securing and cleaning a crime scene- up to $1,000.
- Cost of caregiver services.
- Reasonable funeral expenses- up to $5,000.
- Expenses related to mental health treatment and work loss for a parent of a minor victim- up to $3,000 per parent.
- Reasonable and necessary housing adaptations if the victim suffered a protracted disability- up to $5,000.
Please note: Property loss or damage is not covered other than those items described above. A victim is not eligible for Crime Victim Compensation if only property damage or loss occurred.
*If you have medical coverage through another source for the payment of your medical or mental health expenses, you must be treated by a provider who accepts that source of payment.
- Once your application has been received, CVC will request the law enforcement investigative report from the law enforcement agency. CVC will use the law enforcement report and your application to determine if your claim is eligible.
- The time it takes to determine eligibility varies considerably, depending on the complexity of the claim. However, submitting all requested materials to the Wisconsin Department of Justice in a timely manner will help facilitate the processing of your claim.
- For eligible claims, payments will begin as soon as all necessary information has been submitted and reviewed.
- For ineligible claims, a written denial decision and explanation of the appeal procedure will be mailed to you.
Crime Victim Compensation may provide financial help to victims of crimes that are compensable according to Wisconsin law. Examples of compensable crimes include
Injury by intoxicated use of a vehicle
Brochures and Publications
Crime Victim Compensation Program Brochure:
REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT ON THE ECONOMIC IMPACT OF PROPOSED RULES
This is a request for comments on the economic impact of draft proposed rules, JUS 11, relating to awards for victims of crime. This request is made by the Department of Justice under s. 227.137, Stats., to solicit information and advice from individuals, businesses, associations representing businesses, and local government units who may be affected by the proposed rules for use in analyzing and determining the economic impact that the rules would have on businesses, individuals, public utility rate payers, local government units, and the state’s economy as a whole.
Comments on the economic impact of the draft proposed rules should be submitted to Assistant Attorney General Jody J. Schmelzer at firstname.lastname@example.org or mailed to:
Jody J. Schmelzer
Assistant Attorney General
P.O. Box 7857
Madison, WI 53707-7857
Comments are accepted from April 10th, 2019 through April 30th, 2019.