AG Kaul Announces $7.5 Million in Debt Relief for Former ITT Students in Wisconsin

Sep 15 2020

MADISON, Wis. – Attorney General Josh Kaul has secured an agreement to obtain $7,519,318 in debt relief on 1,137 loans owned by former ITT Tech students in Wisconsin as part of an agreement with 48 attorneys general and the federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.


Nationally, the agreement will result in debt relief of about $330 million for approximately 35,000 borrowers who have outstanding principal balances.


The agreement is with PEAKS Trust, a private loan program run by the for-profit college and affiliated with Deutsche Bank entities. ITT filed bankruptcy in 2016 amid investigations by state attorneys general and following action by the U.S. Department of Education to restrict ITT’s access to federal student aid.


“For-profit colleges and associated private lending programs that use predatory tactics can cause long-term harm to the students they claim to be helping,” said AG Kaul. “This agreement means real debt relief for former ITT Tech students who were the victims of such predatory tactics.”


PEAKS was formed after the 2008 financial crisis when private sources of lending available to for-profit colleges dried up. ITT developed a plan with PEAKS to offer students temporary credit to cover the gap in tuition between federal student aid and the full cost of the education.


According to the Assurance of Voluntary Compliance filed Tuesday:


ITT and PEAKS knew or should have known that the students would not be able to repay the temporary credit when it became due nine months later. Many students complained that they thought the temporary credit was like a federal loan and would not be due until six months after they graduated.


When the temporary credit became due, ITT pressured and coerced students into accepting loans from PEAKS, which for many students carried high interest rates, far above rates for federal loans. Pressure tactics used by ITT included pulling students out of class and threatening to expel them if they did not accept the loan terms. Many of the ITT students were from low-income backgrounds and were left with the choice of enrolling in the PEAKS loans or dropping out and losing any benefit of the credits they had earned, because ITT’s credits would not transfer to most schools. 


The default rate on the PEAKS loans is projected to exceed 80%, due to both the high cost of the loans and the lack of success ITT graduates had getting jobs that earned enough to make repayment feasible.  The defaulted loans continue to affect students’ credit ratings and are usually not dischargeable in bankruptcy.


Under the agreement, PEAKS has agreed that it will forgo collection of the outstanding loans and cease doing business. PEAKS will send notices to borrowers about the cancelled debt and ensure that automatic payments are cancelled.  The agreement also requires PEAKS to supply credit reporting agencies with information to update credit information for affected borrowers.


Students do not have to take any action to receive the debt relief. The notices will explain their rights under the settlement.  Students may direct questions to PEAKS at or 866-747-0273, or the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau at (855) 411-2372.


In June 2019, Attorney General Kaul was part of a $168 million agreement that resulted in debt relief for 18,664 former ITT students. That agreement was with Student CU Connect CUSO, LLC, which also offered loans to finance students’ tuition at ITT Tech.


ITT had operated campuses in Greenfield, Green Bay, and Madison.


In addition to Wisconsin, the agreement was signed by the attorneys general of Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.


This resolution does not relate to a civil action filed by the State of Wisconsin. The requirements of 2017 Wis. Act 369 do not apply.