
Do online background 

checks cost more? 

Wisconsin Department of Justice 

The cost of the check is less if done 

online.  A $5.00 surcharge is legislatively 

mandated for background checks          

requested by mail.   

Fees for online background checks are: 

DOJ General Requests 

 $7 for non-profit organizations

 $7 for government organizations

 $7 for general public requests

Caregiver or Daycare Requests *

 $10 for non-profit organizations

 $10 for government organizations

 $10 for general public requests

* Includes $3 fee for the Department of

Health Services.  These background checks

will include responses from DHS which are

required for Wisconsin caregiver and daycare

providers.  This fee will be included in your

monthly statement from the Department of

Justice.   Payments for both fees should be

made to the Department of Justice.

Wisconsin Background 

Checks Available Online 

To access this information online, you must 

have the following: 

 An up-to-date browser (Chrome, Firefox, Internet

Explorer 11+, or Safari )

 An active WORCS account or a credit card, debit

card, or checking account

 Our URL: recordcheck.doj.wi.gov

If you do not have an account, you may first 

create a user account and then apply for a 

billing account, following the instructions on 

the website. 

Forms to request criminal background checks 

by mail may also be found at the website: 

www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/cib-forms 

If you have questions, contact: 

JOSH KAUL
Attorney General 

Wisconsin Department 

of Justice 

You can find FAQs and 
Training Documentation at our 

website: 
recordcheck.doj.wi.gov 
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Crime Information Bureau 

Criminal History Unit

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 2688 

  Madison, WI 53701-2688 

Phone: 608-266-7314 

     Fax: 608-267-4558 

Email: CIBRecordCheck@doj.state.wi.us 

DOJ Crime Information Bureau: 608-266-7314

DCF Child Care Caregiver Background Unit 608-422-7400

DCF Bureau of Early Care and Regulation 608-421-7550

DHS Caregiver Background Unit 608-261-8319

https://recordcheck.doj.wi.gov/
https://www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/cib-forms
recordcheck.doj.wi.gov


Yes.  All agencies, the Department of Justice, the 

Departments of Health Services, Children and 

Families, and Safety and Professional Services 

will respond online.  Which agencies respond and 

which databases are searched depends on the type 

of request. Check with your licensing agency to 

see what you need to run. 

Can Caregiver and Daycare 

Checks be done online? 

The Volunteers for Children Act allows Qualified 

Entities to receive criminal history information 

from the FBI when fingerprint cards are 

submitted.  Most agencies that work with any type 

of protected population qualify for these national 

checks. 

The fee for these checks is $29.75 for employees 

or $28.50 for volunteers.  Add $3 if you  need a 

caregiver or daycare response. 

Forms to register as a Qualified Entity may be 

found at www.doj.state.wi.us/dles/cib/cib-forms. 

Do I qualify for fingerprint-based 

background checks under the VCA? 

Release of criminal history information from 

other states are governed by the laws of each 

state.  Some states release information similar to 

Wisconsin, some states release no information, 

and other states may fall somewhere in between. 

To assist you in keeping up with procedures in all 

states, information regarding other states may be 

found at: 

www.brbpub.com/free-public-records 

How can I get criminal records 

from other states? 

Disposition Information (if not submitted) 

  Circuit Court Automation Program
wcca.wicourts.gov

  Arresting Law Enforcement Agency
wilenet.org/html/directory/agency.pdf

  Prosecuting District Attorney
wilenet.org/html/directory/agency.pdf

  Circuit Court in which complaint is filed
www.wicourts.gov/contact/directories.htm

DHS Caregiver Information 

  General Information
www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/caregiver/index.htm

  Misconduct Registry
www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/caregiver/misconduct.htm

  Prohibited Offense List
docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/

dhs/001/12 

DSPS Credential/License Search 

 app.wi.gov/LicenseSearch/ 

Use of Arrest and Conviction Records 
dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/civil_rights/discrimination/
arrest_conviction.htm 

Wisconsin Statutes Online 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes 

Other Sources of Information 

Adult criminal history information is considered 

part of the public record in the State of Wisconsin. 

Anyone may obtain this information provided 

they pay the fee established by the Wisconsin 

Legislature. 

Access to juvenile information is restricted by 

state and federal law, and is not included in a stan-

dard background check. 

Inquiries done online are available for 6 months 

from the date of  request. 

What information can be 

accessed over the Internet? 

What’s different between a user 

account and a billing account? 

Authorized Users are able to log in with an email 

address and password and view the last 6 months 

of previous requests. Each background check is 

paid for at that time. 

Billing accounts allow organizations to 

receive monthly billing statements rather than

paying as they go. Multiple users can be added 

to a billing account with different permissions. 

Authorized users can also review past 

statements and run reports such as user activity. 

Billing accounts are required for some types of 

organizations, such as law enforcement or 

daycare; anyone needing results based on

fingerprints must have an authorized billing ac-

count. 

Anyone can submit a background request on 

WORCS from the Public Access tab. Make sure 

to write down your Order Reference Number, 

which is used to retrieve your results. 

If you conduct frequent background checks, you 

may wish to register for a user account, allowing 

you to log in and view your previous 6 months of 

background checks, as well as letting you upload 

a batch of requests at once. 

Organizations may wish to apply for a billing 

account, which allows for monthly payments and 

a number of other features. 

Do I need an account to run a 

background check? 
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