CONCEALED WEAPON APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

License Requirements:

- Applicant is at least 21 years of age.
- Applicant is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal or state law.
- Applicant is not prohibited by a court order from possessing a firearm.
- Applicant is a Wisconsin resident as indicated by a current and valid Wisconsin driver license or identification card, or is Active Military stationed in Wisconsin.
- Applicant can provide adequate proof of training as required by law.

Fees and Payment: An approved concealed weapon license is valid for a five-year period. The fee is \$40 and is non-refundable. This amount includes the application fee of \$30 and the background check fee of \$10. Payment may be made via check or money order payable to "Wisconsin Department of Justice." Name and address must be imprinted on the checks (no "counter or starter checks"). Checks refused by the bank will result in the cancellation of any license issued pursuant to s. 20.905(2), Wis. Stats. along with a \$20 insufficient funds fee. **DO NOT SEND CASH.**

What Must Accompany the Application:

П	The completed application form (pages 2- 4) containing:
	Three (3) required original signatures, no photo copies
	Current Wisconsin residential mailing address
	Current and valid Wisconsin driver license or identification card
	number (not expired, cancelled, denied, surrendered or voided)
П	Acceptable proof of training (see below)
	Payment of \$40 fee
ш	· ·

All incomplete applications will be returned along with the payment. Any accepted application where the applicant is found to be ineligible for a concealed weapon license will be denied and the payment will not be returned.

Application Processing: Completed application packets will be processed in the order they were received. Applications may be submitted online at https://concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov Upon completion of the background investigation, if it is determined you meet the criteria established by law, your license will be mailed to you. Due to confidentiality requirements, the status of your application may not be checked by telephone.

All applications are to be mailed to:

Wisconsin Department of Justice

ATTN: Firearms Unit P.O. Box 7130 Madison, WI 53707-7130

175.60(4) TRAINING REQUIREMENTS. (a) The proof of training requirement may be met by any of the following:

- 1. A copy of a document, or an affidavit from an instructor or organization that conducted the course or program, that indicates the individual completed any of the following:
- a. The hunter education program established under s. 29.591 or a substantially similar program that is established by another state, country, or province.
- b. A firearms safety or training course that is conducted by a national or state organization that certifies firearms instructors.
- c. A firearms safety or training course that is available to the public and is offered by a law enforcement agency or, if the course is taught by an instructor who is certified by a national or state organization that certifies firearms instructors or by the department, by a technical college, a college or a university, a private or public institution or organization, or a firearms training school.
- d. A firearms safety or training course offered to law enforcement officers or owners and employees of licensed private detective and security agencies.
- e. A firearms safety or training course that is conducted by a firearms instructor who is certified by a national or state organization that certifies firearms instructors or who is certified by the department.
- 2. Documentation that the individual completed military, law enforcement, or security training that gave the individual experience with firearms that is substantially equivalent to a course or program under subd. 1.
- 3. A current or expired license, or a photocopy of a current or expired license, that the individual holds or has held that indicates that the individual is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state or in another state or in a county or municipality of this state or of another state unless the license has been revoked for cause. You must complete form DJ-LE-289 from the DOJ website and include it with a copy of the license,
- **4.** Documentation of completion of small arms training while serving in the U.S. armed forces, reserves, or National Guard as demonstrated by an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions or a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and certification.

Jus 17.03(7) Firearms safety or training course means a course of instructor-led training that provides a certificate or affidavit of successful completion that includes the items specified in s. Jus 17.05(2)(a) and that, at a minimum, instructs on, and practices the student's comprehension of, firearm safety rules; safe firearm and ammunition use, handling, transport, and storage; legally permissible possession, transportation, and use of firearms, including use of deadly force; and techniques for avoiding and controlling violent confrontations.

Jus 17.03(8) Instructor-led means training that is conducted face-to-face individually or in groups with an instructor in which instructors actively guide students through each lesson, answer questions, facilitate discussion, and provide feedback on activities and assignments. Learner-led or self-directed learning—the delivery of learning experiences to independent learners who lead and manage their own experience, delivered via web pages, multimedia presentations, computer applications, online presentations, or similar methods—is not instructor-led.

Jus 17.03(12) National or state organization that certifies firearm instructors means any association, partnership, corporation, or limited liability company that is registered, certified, or has an appointed agent on file with the department of financial institutions or has equivalent legal recognition in another state; that customarily or regularly provides training and certification for firearms instructors; and that requires its certified instructors to demonstrate the ability and knowledge required to teach a firearms safety or training course, as defined in s. Jus 17.03(7).

Jus 17.05(2) A certificate or affidavit documenting that the applicant has successfully completed a firearms safety or training course must include all of the following: 1) The applicant's name; 2) The name of the firearms safety or training course; 3) The date on which the applicant completed the firearms safety or training course; 4) The name of the instructor who taught the firearms safety or training course to the applicant and the name of the agency or organization that certified the instructor; 5) The certificate or affidavit must also include evidence that the course completed was a firearms safety or training course as defined in Jus 17.03(7). Sufficient evidence consists of one of the following: a) A signed statement by the instructor who taught the firearms safety and training course affirming that the course met the specifications as defined in Jus 17.03(7); b) Information on the certificate or affidavit sufficient to establish that the course met the specifications as defined in Jus 17.03(7). The department has provided a model training certificate for this purpose at: https://concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov

c) A signed statement by the applicant that the course met the specifications as defined in Jus 17.03(7), see question # 17 on the application.



Wisconsin Department of Justice APPLICATION FOR CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE

			A	APPLIC	AN	TINF	ORMATION	
Applica	nt's Legal	Name (Last, First, Middle, Suffix)				Maiden/Former/Alias Name(s) Used	
Sex	Race	;	Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)	Height (ft/in)	Eye Color	Application form codes:	DOJ Use Only
Driver I	License/Ide	entificat	ion Card Number	•		•	Sex Codes F - Female M - Male	
Current	Wisconsin	n Reside	ential Address				 Race Codes A - Asian or Pacific Islander B - Black I - American Indian or Alaskan Nativ 	/P
City				State Zi		Code	W- White Eye Color Codes	
Current '	Wisconsin	Mailing	g Address (If Different)				BLK - black GRN - gree BLU - blue GRY - gray BRO - brown HAZ - haze	MUL - multicolored
City				State	Zip	Code		Application Number (DOJ Use Only)
Yes	No	ALL.	APPLICANTS: Please answer "	Yes" or "No" to	o all o	questions by p	lacing an "X" in the appropriate co	olumn.
		ALL APPLICANTS: Please answer "Yes" or "No" to all questions by placing an "X" in the appropriate column. 1. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a felony, including a felony in Wisconsin or a crime committed elsewhere that would be a felony in Wisconsin, or any other crime for which the judge could have imprisoned you for more than 1 year? 2. Have you been adjudicated delinquent for an act committed on or after April 21, 1994, that if committed by an adult in Wisconsin, would be a felony and have not been exempted from the firearm prohibition by order of a court pursuant to s. 941.29(8)? 3. Have you ever been found not guilty of a felony in Wisconsin by reason of mental disease or defect, or not guilty of or not responsible for a crime elsewhere that would be a felony in this state by reason of insanity, or mental disease, defect, or illness? 4. Are you currently under indictment or have a felony charge pending against you in any court?						
								Visconsin, would be a felony and have not
								ot responsible for a crime elsewhere that would
		5. Have	e you ever been convicted of a misden	neanor crime of d	omest	tic violence?		
		6. Are	you an unlawful user of, or addicted to	o, marijuana or ar	ny dep	ressant, stimula	nt, narcotic drug, or any other controlle	d substance?
		7. Are you currently free on bond or bail for a pending felony or misdemeanor offense, or as a witness, where the court has ordered you not to possess a dangerous weapon?						ordered you not to possess a
		8. Are	you a fugitive from justice?					
	9. Are you subject to a court order (domestic abuse injunction, domestic abuse tribal injunction, child abuse injunction, harassment injunction) that prohibits you possessing a firearm?						assment injunction) that prohibits you from	
		to your		manage your ow				other lawful authority that you are a danger ation? Further definitions of the disqualifiers
		11. Have you ever been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces? 12. Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship?						
		13. Are you an alien illegally in the United States?						
		14. Are	you a citizen of the United States? I	f no, include your	Alier	Registration or	INS # :	Country of citizenship:
			you a resident of the State of Wisconsin and possess a valid driver license					ard or are you active military stationed in
		16. Are	you at least twenty-one (21) years of	age?				
		copy of	ve you completed the training requirer f the necessary documentation? rements on page 1)	ments for issuance	e of a	license to carry	concealed weapons as required by s. Just	s 17.03(7) and 17.05(2)(b) and included a

I affirm, in accordance with s. 175.60(5)(a) of the Wisconsin Statutes, that: (1) I have read and understand the license requirements; AND (2) I state that the information in this application and any document submitted with the application are true and complete to the best of my knowledge. I understand that I am ineligible to apply for a concealed carry license if any of the restrictions in s. 175.60(3) apply to me. I understand I may be prosecuted if I intentionally give false information on the application or submit any falsified document. The penalty for making a false statement is a fine of up to \$10,000, imprisonment of up to 9 months, or both [s. 946.32(2), Wis. Stats.] and for falsifying a document a fine of up to \$10,000, imprisonment up to 9 months, or both [s. 943.38, Wis. Stats.]

v	Amiliaant	Ciamatuma	(finat aft)	ree required)
Λ	ADDIICAIL	Signature	THIST OF H	nee reduned

PLACES CARRYING OF WEAPON IS PROHIBITED

175.60 (16) PROHIBITED ACTIVITY. (a) Except as provided in par. (b), neither a licensee nor an out-of-state licensee may knowingly carry a concealed weapon, a weapon that is not concealed, or a firearm that is not a weapon in any of the following places:

- 1. Any portion of a building that is a police station, sheriff's office, state patrol station, or the office of a division of criminal investigation special agent of the department.
- 2. Any portion of a building that is a prison, jail, house of correction, or secured correctional facility.
- 3. The facility established under s. 46.055 [secure mental health facility for sexually violent persons].
- 4. The center established under s. 46.056 [Wisconsin Resource Center].
- Any secured unit or secured portion of a mental health institute under s. 51.05, including a facility designated as the Maximum Security Facility at Mendota Mental Health Institute.
- 6. Any portion of a building that is a county, state, or federal courthouse.
- 7. Any portion of a building that is a municipal courtroom if court is in session.
- 8. A place beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.

(b) The prohibitions under par. (a) do not apply to any of the following:

- 1. A weapon in a vehicle driven or parked in a parking facility located in a building that is used as, or any portion of which is used as, a location under par (a).
- 2. A weapon in a courthouse or courtroom if a judge who is a licensee is carrying the weapon or if another licensee or out-of-state licensee, whom a Judge has permitted in writing to carry a weapon, is carrying the weapon.
- 3. A weapon in a courthouse or courtroom if a district attorney, or assistant district attorney, who is a licensee is carrying the weapon.

175.60(15m) EMPLOYER RESTRICTIONS. (a) Except as provided in par. (b), an employer may prohibit a licensee or an out-of-state licensee that it employs from carrying a concealed weapon or a particular type of concealed weapon in the course of the licensee's or out-of-state licensee's employment or during any part of the licensee's or out-of-state licensee's course of employment.

(b) An employer may not prohibit a licensee or an out-of-state licensee, as a condition of employment, from carrying a concealed weapon, a particular type of concealed weapon, or ammunition or from storing a weapon, a particular type of weapon, or ammunition in the licensee's or out-of-state licensee's own motor vehicle, regardless of whether the motor vehicle is used in the course of employment or whether the motor vehicle is driven or parked on property used by the employer.

943.13 (1m)(c) TRESPASS TO LAND Whoever does any of the following is subject to a Class B forfeiture:

- While carrying a firearm, enters or remains at a residence that the actor does not own or occupy after the owner of the residence, if he or she has not leased it to another person, or the occupant of the residence has notified the actor not to enter or remain at the residence while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. In this subdivision, "residence," with respect to a single-family residence, includes the residence building and the parcel of land upon which the residence building is located, and "residence," with respect to a residence that is not a single-family residence, does not include any common area of the building in which the residence is located or any common areas of the rest of the parcel of land upon which the residence building is located.
- 2) While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in a common area in a building, or on the grounds of a building, that is a residence that is not a single-family residence if the actor does not own the residence or does not occupy any part of the residence, if the owner of the residence has notified the actor not to enter or remain in the common area or on the grounds while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a part of the grounds of the building if that part is used for parking and the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in that part.
- 3) While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in any part of a nonresidential building, grounds of a nonresidential building, or land that the actor does not own or occupy after the owner of the building, grounds, or land, if that part of the building, grounds, or land has not been leased to another person, or the occupant of that part of the building, grounds, or land has notified the actor not to enter or remain in that part of the building, grounds, or land while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a part of a building, grounds, or land occupied by the state or by a local governmental unit, to a privately or publicly owned building on the grounds of a university or college, or to the grounds of or land owned or occupied by a university of college, or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of a building, grounds, or land used as a parking facility.
- 4) While carrying a firearm, enters or remains at a special event if the organizers of the special event have notified the actor not to enter or remain at the special event while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the special event grounds or building used as a parking facility.
- 5) Enters or remains in any part of a building that is owned, occupied, or controlled by the state or any local governmental unit, excluding any building or portion of a building under s. 175.60 (16) (a), if the state or local governmental unit has notified the actor not to enter or remain in the building while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a person who leases residential or business premises in the building or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the building used as a parking facility.
- 6) Enters or remains in any privately or publicly owned building on the grounds of a university or college, if the university or college has notified the actor not to enter or remain in the building while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a person who leases residential or business premises in the building or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the building used as a parking facility.

941.237 (2) CARRYING HANDGUN WHERE ALCOHOL BEVERAGES MAY BE CONSUMED OR SOLD Whoever intentionally goes armed with a handgun on any premises for which a Class "B" or "Class B" license or permit has been issued under ch. 125 is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. This prohibition does not apply to a licensee or out-of-state licensee as long as they are not consuming alcohol on the premises. (s. 941.237 (3) (cx), Wis. Stats.)

948.605 (2) FIREARMS ON SCHOOL GROUNDS No licensee may knowingly possess a firearm in or on the grounds of a school.

I have read the preceding statements and understand where I am prohibited from carrying a concealed weapon.

X	
	Applicant Signature (second of three required).

WISCONSIN'S SELF-DEFENSE LAW

939.48 Self-defense and defense of others.

(1) A person is privileged to threaten or intentionally use force against another for the purpose of preventing or terminating what the person reasonably believes to be an unlawful interference with his or her person by such other person. The actor may intentionally use only such force or threat thereof as the actor reasonably believes is necessary to prevent or terminate the interference. The actor may not intentionally use force which is intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm unless the actor reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to himself or herself.

(1m) (a) In this subsection:

- 1. "Dwelling" has the meaning given in s. 895.07 (1) (h).
- 2. "Place of business" means a business that the actor owns or operates.
- (1m) (ar) If an actor intentionally used force that was intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm, the court may not consider whether the actor had an opportunity to flee or retreat before he or she used force and shall presume that the actor reasonably believed that the force was necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to himself or herself if the actor makes such a claim under sub. (1) and either of the following applies:
 - 1. The person against whom the force was used was in the process of unlawfully and forcibly entering the actor's dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business, the actor was present in the dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business, and the actor knew or reasonably believed that an unlawful and forcible entry was occurring.

 2. The person against whom the force was used was in the actor's dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business after unlawfully and forcibly entering it, the actor was present in the dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business, and the actor knew or reasonably believed that the person had unlawfully and forcibly entered the dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business.
- (1m) (b) The presumption described in par. (ar) does not apply if any of the following applies:
 - 1. The actor was engaged in a criminal activity or was using his or her dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business to further a criminal activity at the time.
 - 2. The person against whom the force was used was a public safety worker, as defined in s. 941.375 (1) (b), who entered or attempted to enter the actor's dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business in the performance of his or her official duties. This subdivision applies only if at least one of the following applies:
 - a. The public safety worker identified himself or herself to the actor before the force described in par. (ar) was used by the actor.
 - b. The actor knew or reasonably should have known that the person entering or attempting to enter his or her dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business was a public safety worker.
- (2) Provocation affects the privilege of self-defense as follows:
 - (a) A person who engages in unlawful conduct of a type likely to provoke others to attack him or her and thereby does provoke an attack is not entitled to claim the privilege of self-defense against such attack, except when the attack which ensues is of a type causing the person engaging in the unlawful conduct to reasonably believe that he or she is in imminent danger of death or great bodily harm. In such a case, the person engaging in the unlawful conduct is privileged to act in self-defense, but the person is not privileged to resort to the use of force intended or likely to cause death to the person's assailant unless the person reasonably believes he or she has exhausted every other reasonable means to escape from or otherwise avoid death or great bodily harm at the hands of his or her assailant.
 - (b) The privilege lost by provocation may be regained if the actor in good faith withdraws from the fight and gives adequate notice thereof to his or her assailant.
 - (c) A person who provokes an attack, whether by lawful or unlawful conduct, with intent to use such an attack as an excuse to cause death or great bodily harm to his or her assailant is not entitled to claim the privilege of self-defense.
- (3) The privilege of self-defense extends not only to the intentional infliction of harm upon a real or apparent wrongdoer, but also to the unintended infliction of harm upon a third person, except that if the unintended infliction of harm amounts to the crime of first-degree or second-degree reckless homicide, homicide by negligent handling of dangerous weapon, explosives or fire, first-degree or second-degree reckless injury or injury by negligent handling of dangerous weapon, explosives or fire, the actor is liable for whichever one of those crimes is committed.
- (4) A person is privileged to defend a third person from real or apparent unlawful interference by another under the same conditions and by the same means as those under and by which the person is privileged to defend himself or herself from real or apparent unlawful interference, provided that the person reasonably believes that the facts are such that the third person would be privileged to act in self-defense and that the person's intervention is necessary for the protection of the third person.
- (5) A person is privileged to use force against another if the person reasonably believes that using such force is necessary to prevent such person from committing suicide, but this privilege does not extend to the intentional use of force intended or likely to cause death.
- (6) In this section "unlawful" means either tortious or expressly prohibited by criminal law or both.

939.49 Defense of property and protection against retail theft.

(1) A person is privileged to threaten or intentionally use force against another for the purpose of preventing or terminating what the person reasonably believes to be an unlawful interference with the person's property. Only such degree of force or threat thereof may intentionally be used as the actor reasonably believes is necessary to prevent or terminate the interference. It is not reasonable to intentionally use force intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm for the sole purpose of defense of one's property.

I have read	and understand	l the above sta	tements on
self-defense	of persons, pro	perty, and the	use of force.

X			

LICENSE ACTIONS

Possession and Display of License: At all times during which a person is carrying a concealed weapon, the licensee shall have with them their concealed weapon license AND their photographic identification card (driver license or identification card). Both the license and identification shall be displayed to a law enforcement officer upon request.

Suspension or Revocation of License: Court action against a license holder may constitute grounds for suspension or revocation of a license to carry a concealed weapon. If a license is suspended or revoked, the licensee must return said license personally or by certified mail within seven (7) days of suspension or revocation to the DOJ at the address found on page one.

Lost or Destroyed License: If a license is lost or destroyed, the licensee may request a replacement by submitting a completed replacement request form and a \$12 fee, along with any remaining portions of the license to the DOJ at the address found on page one. If the license was lost or destroyed making it impossible to return, your existing license will be cancelled and must be returned if found at a later time. You must submit a replacement request which can be performed online through the DOJ CCW website: https://concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov.

Change of Address: The Department of Justice must be notified in writing of any change of address on the part of any licensee within thirty (30) days. You may submit a change of address notification form through the DOJ CCW website: https://concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov.

Weapons Permitted with License: s. 175.60(1)(j), Wis. Stats.: "Weapon" means a handgun, an electric weapon, as defined in s. 941.295(1c)(a), or a billy club.