Law Enforcement Officer's Safety Act (LEOSA)

The Wisconsin Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) only issues the LEOSA cards to retired DCI agents.  Retired federal agents and out-of-state LEO's who reside in Wisconsin must submit their application to the Division of Law Enforcement Services (DLES), Criminal Information Bureau (CIB), Firearms Unit in order to obtain the LEOSA card.  For information about LEOSA (a/k/a/ HR-218), check out this FAQ documents and other instructions.

 

PROCESS FOR RETIRED FEDERAL AND OUT-OF-STATE LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS

 

A.  CERTICATION REQUIREMENTS

  • Applicant must be a Wisconsin resident
  • Applicant is not prohibited from processing a firearm under federal or state law
  • Applicant separated in good standing from service as a law enforcement officer at a law enforcement agency
  • Applicant has aggregate service of at least 10 years or separated due to service-connected disability after completion of probation
  • Applicant provides documentation satisfying s. 175.49 (3)(b)l-3. Wis. Stats. on DOJ form DJ-LE-290
  • Applicant must complete firearms qualification required for active Wisconsin law enforcement officers as denoted in s. 175.49(3)(b)5. Wisc. Stats.
  • Applicant will provide type of firearm applicant is certified to carry
  • Applicant will provide a photograph with the application.  The photograph required for a certification card must meet the requirements for a passport photo:
    • In color
    • Printed on photo quality paper
    • Taken in front of a plain colored background
    • Taken in full-face view directly facing the camera
    • With a neutral facial expression and both eyes open
    • 2 x 2 inches (51 x 51 mm) in size (no larger)
    • Please do no staple your photo to the application

B.  WHAT MUST ACCOMPANY THE APPLICATION

  • Applicant will submit a signed and completed application form containing:
    • Current and valid Wisconsin driver license or identification card number (not expired, cancelled, denied, surrendered or voided)
    • Acceptable proof of firearms qualifications: Minimum Standards Handgun Qualification Course certificate issued by LESB firearm instructor (see requirements on page 3 of application)
    • Payment of $25 (check or money order)
    • Current photograph (see photograph requirements on page 1 of application for details). Please do not staple photo to application.
    • A signed form from the former federal officer’s agency affirming compliance with s. 175.49(3)(b) l-3, Wisc. Stats. Affirmation Form
    • Send all documents and payment to:
      • Wisconsin Department of Justice
        ATTN: Firearms Unit
        P.O Box 7130
        Madison, WI 53707-7130

PROCESS FOR RETIRED DCI AGENTS

 

For retired DCI agents attending one of the four DCI LEOSA qualification courses listed below, the agent is required to submit the following forms to DCI:

**NOTE:  The applicant is required to write in the four Uniform Gun Handling Safety Rules under "Description of Risks" on the Liability Waiver form.  Forms left blank or incorrectly filled out will be rejected.

 

The photograph required for a certification card must be included with the application. The recently taken photograph must meet the requirements for a passport photo:

 

  • In Color
  • Printed on photo quality paper
  • Taken in front of a plain colored background
  • Taken in full-face view directly facing the camera
  • With a neutral facial expression and both eyes open
  • 2 x 2 inches (51 x 51 mm) in size (no larger) 

If the retired agent attends a qualification course sponsored by another agency or technical college, and is administered by a DOJ T&S certified firearms instructor, the agent must submit the certificate of qualification issued by that organization, along with form 261a2 Applicant Questionnaire, and 261a3 Liability Waiver and a recent photograph (see photograph requirements above) to DCI. 

 

Upon successful qualification, the LEOSA card will be issued to the retiree.

 

DCI SPONSORED LEOSA QUALIFICATION

 

DCI will provide four opportunities yearly for retired DCI agents and retired federal or out-of-state law enforcement officers who meet the requirements under the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act to qualify with their sidearm.  Applicants are required to provide 50 rounds of ammunition per weapon, per attempt of the WI DOJ Qualification Course, their own ear and eye protection, and any range fees required.

 

Important:  All participants will be expected to have paperwork completed, $20 for the range fee (unless you are qualifying in Wausau) and be ready by 9:00AM SHARP.

 

May 1, 2021, IS THE DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS REQUESTING TO ATTEND ONE OF THE SPRING RANGE DATES.

 

Tuesday, May 25, 2021, from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm in the Madison area at the Dane County Law Enforcement Training Center located at 5184 Hwy 19, east of Waunakee in the Town of Westport.  Please make sure your firearm is unloaded prior to entering the building.  Attendees will meet at range classroom number 6 first, and then will qualify on range number 2. The Dane County Sheriff’s Office charges $20 as a range fee for all participants that will be collected by Dane County on the day of the qualification.

 

Friday, June 11, 2021, from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm in the Wausau area at the Frank Hanousek Range, which is the law enforcement portion of the Duane Corbin Shooting Range located at 217980 Rifle Road, Mosinee, Wisconsin. Directions from STH 51/I-39 are: exit at exit 188 (CTH N). Turn west onto CTH N and continue on CTH N/South Mountain Road to CTH KK (approximately 2 miles), turn south onto CTH KK and follow CTH KK to Rifle Road (approximately 6 miles), continue on Rifle Road through the Duane Corbin Shooting Range to the far west end where the Frank Hanousek Range is located. No range fees are associated with the range.

 

July 25, 2021, IS THE DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS REQUESTING TO ATTEND ONE OF THE FALL RANGE DATES.

 

Monday, August 9, 2021, from 9:00 am to 11:00 am at the West Bend Barton Sportsman’s Club, 3540 Trapshoot Lane, Kewaskum, Wisconsin 53040.  This is an outdoor range, please dress for the weather.  There is a $20 range fee for all participants that will be paid directly to the West Bend Barton Sportsman’s Club on the day of qualification.

 

Friday, September 3, 2021, from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm in the Wausau area at the Frank Hanousek Range, which is the law enforcement portion of the Duane Corbin Shooting Range located at 217980 Rifle Road, Mosinee, Wisconsin. Directions from STH 51/I-39 are: exit at exit 188 (CTH N). Turn west onto CTH N and continue on CTH N/South Mountain Road to CTH KK (approximately 2 miles), turn south onto CTH KK and follow CTH KK to Rifle Road (approximately 6 miles), continue on Rifle Road through the Duane Corbin Shooting Range to the far west end where the Frank Hanousek Range is located. No range fees are associated with the range.