State of Wisconsin Concealed Carry License Appeal Form

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO APPEAL

Your application for a license to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) has been denied or your previously-issued license to
carry a concealed weapon has been suspended or revoked by the State of Wisconsin. The reason for the denial,
suspension or revocation has been provided in the attached letter. If you feel this denial, suspension, or revocation has
been issued in error, please follow the directions below to appeal this action.

Pursuant to s. 175.60(14g) Wis. Stats., the Department of Justice provides a process for the review of any departmental
action denying, suspending or revoking a license to carry a concealed weapon. Any request for review must be received
by the department within 30 days after the date the denial, suspension, or revocation notice was mailed to the applicant
or licensee. There is no additional charge for an appeal to the Department of Justice.

In cases of denials, suspensions, or revocations involving criminal history records, you are required to submit fingerprints
to establish positive proof of identity. The preferable fingerprint card is the blue FBI applicant card FD-258. The “reason
fingerprinted” field on the applicant fingerprint card must indicate CCW License Challenge. Requests without a
fingerprint card or with illegible fingerprints will be returned. Fingerprint cards without a minimum amount of personal
identification information will also be returned. Minimum data includes full name, sex, race, date of birth, reason
fingerprinted and information regarding the official capturing the fingerprints. The FBI applicant fingerprint card is
available at most law enforcement agencies or may be requested from the Department of Justice.

Return of the completed forms and fingerprint card allows the Department of Justice to confirm the record used for
denial, suspension, or revocation matches based on positive biometric identifiers (fingerprints), rather than the previous
name search. The fingerprint card will be returned to you following this comparison process.

If the fingerprints submitted do not match those on the record used as the basis for denial, suspension, or revocation,
you will immediately be issued a license to carry a concealed weapon or your license will be reinstated. If the non-
approval resulted from an out-of-state record, the identification process will require a longer period of time to process.

If you are the subject of the record on which the denial, suspension, or revocation was based, but feel the information
contained in the record is incorrect, you may challenge the accuracy of the record used in the evaluation of your denial,
suspension, or revocation. If you have additional documentation from the court, prosecutor, or other criminal justice
entity which supports your claim, you should include the information with your written request for appeal.

Under either circumstance, you may submit your request for appeal by completing the form on the reverse side of this
document and submitting it to the address listed.

In addition, s. 175.60(14m) permits any person denied a license to carry a concealed weapon, or whose license is
suspended or revoked, to appeal directly to the circuit court in the county in which the person resides. A court appeal
must be filed within 30 days of your receiving notice of the denial, suspension or revocation.
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State of Wisconsin Concealed Carry License Appeal Form

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE CONCEALED
CARRY LICENSE/CERTIFICATE APPEAL

Submit forms to: Crime Information Bureau

Attention: Appeals

P.O. Box 7130

Madison, WI 53707-7130

1. Name

2. Street Address

3. City, State, ZIP Code

4. Phone Number 5. Sex 6. Race 7. Date of Birth

8. Social Security Number (optional) 9. Concealed Carry License Number if Available

10. Signature

Please check the appropriate box for the basis of your appeal.
Attach Court or other supporting documents if available.

MISTAKEN IDENTITY/FALSE MATCH: | am not the person on whose record the denial, suspension, or revocation was based. ** (You
must submit a fingerprint card with the appeal form).

INCORRECT CHARGE INFORMATION: | was the person arrested, but the record lists an incorrect charge or charge severity (felony,
misdemeanor, or non-criminal).

MISSING DISPOSITION INFORMATION: You must provide the disposition documents provided by the prosecutor or court
(Judgment of Conviction, Order for Dismissal, etc.).

INCORRECT DISPOSITION INFORMATION: You must provide supporting disposition documents provided by the prosecutor or

court (Judgment of Conviction, Order for Dismissal, etc.).

N I I I A O

INVALID TRAINING: You must provide valid proof of training as required by law.

D OTHER: Explain

Please provide a detailed explanation in support of your appeal. You may attach additional pages if needed.
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