Media Center

Brookfield Man and His Corporation Sentenced For Illegally Storing Hazardous Waste and Obstructing Law Enforcement


BROOKFIELD - Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen announced that on October 20, 2009, the Honorable David C. Resheske, Washington County Circuit Court, sentenced Dale Knutson of Brookfield and his corporation, CAAP, Inc., for illegally storing hazardous waste on property in the Town of Erin in Washington County.  Knutson was also sentenced for two counts of obstructing for giving false information to Washington County Deputy Sheriff Kevin Mass and DNR Environmental Warden Jenny Gibson.   


On the hazardous waste felony, Knutson was placed on probation for three years and ordered to reimburse the DNR $8,391.57 for its response costs, comply with the State's hazardous waste laws for the investigation and closure of the site as a hazardous waste facility, perform 100 hours of community service, and not handle or dispose of hazardous waste or hazardous materials without a license during probation.  Knutson was also sentenced to 45 days in jail for obstructing Deputy Mass and 30 days in jail for obstructing Environmental Warden Gibson.  CAAP, Inc. received a fine of $30,000 plus costs for the illegally storage of hazardous waste. 


The case charged that Knutson and CAAP, Inc. between October 12, 2004, and October 19, 2005, stored acid, which was found to be a hazardous waste, in a van at Knutson's property without a hazardous waste storage license.  The violation was discovered by Washington County Deputies as they investigated a suspicious vehicle complaint.  The Department of Natural Resources was called in and continued the investigation.  The obstructing charges arose from Knutson giving false information to law enforcement during their investigation.  The defendants were convicted of these counts by a Washington County jury on August 26, 2009. 


The case was investigated by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources and the Washington County Sheriff Department and was prosecuted by Assistant Attorneys General Diane Milligan and Steven Tinker.