Division of Law Enforcement Services

CCW Legislative - Current

 

Permanent Rules

 

On June 1, 2013 the Department of Justice's Permanent Rules for the Concealed Carry Weapons (CCW) license program became effective.

 

What's new in the permanent rules:

  • Application fee changed to $30 plus a background check fee of $10 for a total of $40.
  • 17.03(7)
    • Refines the definition of "firearms safety or training course" by including: safe firearm and ammunition use, handling, transport, and storage; legally permissible possession, transportation, and use of firearms, including the use of deadly force; and techniques for avoiding and controlling violent confrontations. 
    • The certificate or affidavit must also include evidence that the course completed was a firearms safety or training course as defined in Jus 17.03(7).  Sufficient evidence consists of one of the following:
      • A signed statement by the instructor who taught the firearms safety and training course affirming that the course met the specifications as defined in Jus 17.03(7).
      • Information on the certificate or affidavit sufficient to establish that the course met the specifications as defined in Jus. 17.03(7). 
      • The department has provided a model training certificate for this purpose. Model Certificate
      • A signed statement by the applicant that the course met the specifications as defined in Jus 17.03(7), see question #17 on the application.
  • 17.03(8)
    • Limits instructor led classes to an instructor-student ratio of no more than 50 students per instructor.
  • 17.05(2)(a)
    • Adds language requirements to the training certificate or affidavit to indicate the training required in 17.03(7) was provided.
  • 17.06(3)(b)
    • Adds language to allow DOJ to revoke a DOJ instructors certification under certain conditions.
  • 17.08(1) & 17.08(1)
    • Require that change of address notifications be submitted on DOJ provided forms.
  • 17.08(2) & 18.7(2)
    • Require that name changes be submitted on DOJ provided forms.

 

CCW Legislative - History

 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearings posted 06/15/2012

Fiscal and Economic Impact Analysis (permanent rules)

Proposed permanent rules

Emergency Rule 1
Emergency Rule 2
Emergency Rule 3

Emergency Rule 3 Governor's Approval

Fiscal and Economic Impact Analysis (emergency rules)

2011 Wisconsin Act 35

Legislative Reference Bureau Report, May 2012

  • This document was published by the Legislative Reference Bureau and has historical information as to Wisconsin’s firearms laws leading up to and including an overview of 2011 Act 35.